artichoke omelette / omelet

In the first year at university and my first year of living on my own, I had a small vegetable stall quite close to my flat. One day they had these small, tiny artichokes which I had never seen before. Of course I had to buy them and while I was paying the woman told me about this omelette. Since it was a Turkish shop, I had always thought it was Turkish recipe, but it does seem to be Italian. Although, that is sometimes so hart to determine, I’d rather call it Mediterranean since there are lots of similar preparations.

You might want to make a prettier omelette but I like the abundance of artichokes here.

Artichoke omelette

Lunch for one

2 small artichokes
1 lemon
olive oil
1 garlic clove, chopped
2 eggs
1-2 tablespoon chopped parsley
1-2 tablespoon chopped mint
salt, white pepper

Prepare the artichokes: cut of the upper third, scrape out the hay and spiky leaves, peel the bottom and stems and rub the cut surfaces immediately with lemon juice to prevent browning.

Lightly whisk the eggs with salt & pepper, add the chopped parsley & mint.

Heat a frying pan over high heat, add oil and cut the artichokes in thin slices just before you throw them in the pan. Fry together with the chopped garlic until the artichokes are lightly browned, almost toasted. Turn the heat to low, add the eggs and leave until lightly set, shake the pan violently back and forth (as you have seen it done by several great chefs and hope it works out…) to get an omelette. Or if you are worried about the eggs to be fully cooked, carefully turn it over and fry until totally set. Eat with rustic Italian bread.

Leave a Reply

