tofu lunch salad

tofu lunch salad by the james kitchen
tofu lunch salad, a photo by the james kitchen on Flickr.

 

For a little experiment I need to eat a lot of tofu in the coming weeks and frankly I never felt the need to cook it myself since I am not very good at it and since it is not necessarily needed as a replacement, I never really bothered. I do not mind the taste, especially if it is cooked in an interesting way though I have never been able to do it myself without it turning to a complete shambles or rather scrambles: firm tofu starts to crumble immediately & sticks to the pan as soon as it hits the wok, the soft silken tofu never keeps its shape in my miso soup, yes, I might have boiled it just a little or not dried it properly, who knows? Inarizushi is better bought and what does one do with smoked tofu? I am really grateful for ideas, people.

So, to get an easy launch with my tofu consumption increase experiment, I imagined Friday’s lunch salad of silken tofu blobs on baby spinach & carrot as an Asian version of a salad with burrata mozzarella. Doused in a simple lemon-soy-sesame oil dressing and covered with sesame seeds, I have to say, it was not half bad, in fact, I quite liked the juxtapostion of soft tofu & crunchy carrot, lemon & salty soy, mellow tofu & sharp spring onion.

If you have great tofu recipes and cooking tricks & tips, I would really like to know.

 

Tofu lunch salad
for one

3 handfuls of baby spinach
one big carrot, cut into discs
one spring onion, chopped into fine rings
100g (3.5 oz) of silken tofu, patted dry on kitchen roll paper
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon lemon or lime juice
2 teaspoons of sesame oil
1 tablespoon rice wine
a pinch of sugar

½ small flatbread, piadina or wheat tortilla, toasted and cut into triangles

Arrange spinach, carrot discs & spring onion on a plate, dot with blobs (or neat dice) of silken tofu and sprinkle artfully with the toasted sesame seeds. Mix a dressing out of the other ingredients and serve with the flatbread.

 

 

Leave a Reply

